Update on the grand scheme of things

image

How could I choose to move away from this...?

An update on the grand scheme of things: We’re no longer planning on moving to someplace cheaper, and Oats is no longer applying to graduate school for her MFA. I like to think that both of these  goals will again be on the table in the future, but for now neither of them are the focus of our life plan. Instead, we’re staying here and having a baby.

When I write it like that, it makes it sound so easy and tidy, so maybe I’ll rephrase: We’re staying here and trying to make a kid in a biological fashion of some sort, though also thinking that our kid(s) may potentially come to us through other legal means instead, and we’re not certain how any of this will happen, only that we’re committing to working on it.

Oats and I have been discussing this change-in-focus for the past couple months, and our decision was so gradual, that I’ve been forgetting to tell my friends… Until they ask for an update on Oats’ university applications, and I’m all like: “Huh?”

Why the change?  It’s so pragmatic, it hurts.  I mean, I’m excited and eager and all that, but my romantic nature is still off in la-la land while big decisions are being made.  The main points are: We both have secure unionized jobs, we have a 3 bedroom apartment that is owned by our closest friends, and we have the family-style support of said closest friends plus Jag, who is also only a stone’s throw from our door, not to mention a bevy of other excellent friends and chosen family.  To top it off, I’m 30 years old and if my reproductive system is gonna do anything useful, now is a good time to start asking.

Anyway.  Yeah.  So that’s what’s been on my mind lately.  I don’t really have much else to say about it, except all the boring details: Any pregnancy would be carried by me, not Oats; we would use an anonymous donor via a sperm bank, not a known donor; we haven’t yet chosen a bank or donors, or looked into getting a home study for adoption, or consulted a lawyer, or really many of the other little tasks we’re going to take on.  And no, we don’t really have a spare $2000 each month, but are certainly closer to being financially stable than ever before. All we’ve actually *done* is read through the info from the local fertility clinic, a couple books, and researched a little in an attempt to understand the insanity of Health Canada regulations around sperm. (They consider it a drug.  I KID YOU NOT.)

Also, me being me, I’ve become addicted to lurking on a message board where baby-making queers from around the world are chatting about their current tries at conception.  And of course, I’m also charting my basal body temperature every day… Just like I used to years ago, when I had a male, sperm-producing partner, and was trying to avoid pregnancy!  Except back then it was crazy stressful, and now I’m just really stoked about the fun science-experiment-aspect of it.  I recently spat onto a scrap of glass, let it dry, then looked at it through my microscope and was able to predict my upcoming ovulation based on the crystalized patterns of my estrogen-enriched saliva… Science!

The main thing is, we’re off on a bit of an adventure here, different from what we’ve done in the past and from what we’d thought we might be doing.  It’s exciting, and a little crazy, and I guess that’s probably a totally excellent place to be.

5 responses to “Update on the grand scheme of things

  1. Hey…
    The ole biological clock is ticking? Have you moved into “nesting mode” yet? That happened to me when we were in the foster parent program. babies are good news. You’ve made it this far and solidified your living, financial and work areas and there is no better time than the present. I wish you all good things. I believe you both would make great parents and that your child would grow up in a good place with good people. You have incredible friends from all the stories you have told. Becoming parents is a big deal but if taken one day at a time should be a breeze.

    Keep us posted on baby watch… tee hee
    I am happy for you both.
    Jeremy

  2. That is fantastic news!!! So happy for you both, I know you will make incredible parents. Babies…wow.

  3. Oh oh oh!! I am so excited for you!!!! You will both be such great parents! Maybe we can do some yoga for fertility classes if you are interested. Remember the class we did right before Christmas that was really relaxing??? That is what yoga for fertility classes are like. Good luck!!

  4. I have not been on your blog for AGES. I wish living in the same house as you was an excuse for that; having the real deal and so on. Really it’s just because my cranium is stuck far up the rectum of my program.
    Not moving? Yay!
    Babies? Yay!
    Here? Huzzah!!!
    Bon courage and ENJOY IT. And if you need us? You know where to find us.

  5. feralgeographer

    Thank you, all! I’m glad to have your support.

Leave a Reply

