Anti-meme blogger does a meme (2010 Year In Review)

Happy New Year, readers! Eight days in, and we’re still here: 2011 seems to be working out.

So, as you may know, I’m a grouchy blogger, with rather particular tastes in both blog-writing and blog-reading. It can’t even be called snobbery, because there’s no pattern of superiority to it: I just like what I like, and get annoyed by everything else. One thing I’m really not into is memes. Oh sure, I occasionally repost funny/cool stuff on social networking sites, but I find it tedious when I see the same video/article/quiz/etc show up on all the blogs I read. I know, I know, I’m mean. But really, what I love about the Internet is original content, and that’s what I’m here for: I want your formless brain dump, and I want it now.

Regular readers will note that I’ve participated in group online initiatives like Reverb10 and NaBloPoMo, and aren’t those memes of a sort? To which I answer Yes. I am a hypocrite if nothing else.

With that in mind… Hey! Here’s a meme! Why? Because I want to! Also, because I’ve been alarmed by how fast time has been moving lately (have you read Jeannette Winterson’s Tanglewreck?) and I figure that I’ll appreciate having this record a year from now.

Given how long this sucker is, I’m going to split it up over a couple days, because otherwise I’ll overwhelm your patience and it’s too early in the year to risk that. Read Part II here, and Part III here.

2010 YEAR IN REVIEW, PART I
1. What did you do in 2010 that you’d never done before?

Like, a million things. I got a full drivers’ license, I worked in construction, I got a surprise lay-off, I did paid work at a farm, I bought a car from a dealership, I commuted to work by car, I was photographed partially nude for a calendar, I proposed marriage to my partner, I got chickens, I painted the walls of multiple large rooms in my home multiple times, I sailed my own boat, I… Yeah. A lot of this past year was new, new, new.

2. Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I never make New Year’s resolutions. Of course, I also never do memes. Huh.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Hmmm… J, whom I still haven’t seen since she announced her pregnancy in December 2009, because I was too sick to go to the baby shower, and I’ve been a total hermit this year.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

My old friend G, who was once very close to me, though not so much in recent years… I wrote about that here.

5. What countries (or new places) did you visit?

I drove across the Northern US, which I hadn’t done in years: That was pretty cool. But so was all the tripping I did around this island. I went on a few local camping trips, and enough day hikes to remind me why I love living in this part of the world.

6. What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?

Stable career plans, which may lead to stable financial plans. Sexy, I know.

7. What date from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

The day I proposed to Oats. And I can’t remember the date. But I remember the day, the moment, everything else! I know, I’m awful… Hopefully she doesn’t think so.

Also, the date I went to work at the construction site: It was March 16th, and I was scared shitless.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Trying. Knowing it would be hard, and trying anyway.

9. What was your biggest failure?

I don’t know yet. I think time will tell, however.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

I was sick in the summer for a little while, but mostly had a healthy year.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

The chickens. Eggs aside, the entertainment value and pure social collateral of having poultry is very rewarding. I crave status with the urban agriculture crowd. Once you’ve got them on side, the world is yours.

Part II is just around the corner!

Leave a Reply

