Eight month countdown.

I just read the latest from Red Cedar, regarding her upcoming nuptials, and was both calmed and agitated by the post. Calmed, because she’s not freaking out over organizing the event and it’s only a couple months away, so really it’s okay that Oats and I have done absolutely nothing about our own wedding aside from a lot of talking and giggling. Agitated, because ZOMG ours is a completely different event than Red Cedar’s, with a larger guest list and family from out of town and by the way, only one of us is working full-time which is really impacting our ability to save up for the occasion… *deep breath*.

Not being inclined towards extravagance, I’m actually not that worried about affording the wedding we want to have. Our original plan to have a ceremony in a local park is still on, but we’ve reconsidered hosting the reception at our house and are opting for a small restaurant instead. Out of the blue, my mother and stepdad completely surprised me by offering to pay for the booze, a kind gesture to which I responded with an astounded: “Do you *realize* how much my friends drink?!”

So, that’s a couple grand we don’t need to worry about.

Anyway, congrats to Red Cedar! I’m glad that she’s got most of the important stuff done (dress! rings!) and I can’t wait to hear her vows, which I hope she’ll share with readers, because I’m developing a huge interest in how we pledge our commitments to one another in this society. Also, I love her writing.

In case you’re interested, here’s the fabric I want to use for my own dress, with my hand for scale: I got it for $6 at the Camberwell Market in Melbourne. There’s a few metres of it, but it’s such a thin cotton that I think I’ll need some thick liner material as well. I haven’t yet talked with the person I want to sew it for me, but even writing about it here makes me feel inspired to get it organized.

So, this is me, planning my (big fat gay) wedding.

3 responses to “Eight month countdown.

  1. Looks great, and good for you!

    All that matters is that your wedding be what the two of you want it to be! We got married in May and there were endless ideas, feedback, blah, blah, blah, and when it comes down to it, we had the wedding we wanted, and everyone else can jump on board and love it with us, or not.

    Make it what you want it to be. And congrats!

  2. feralgeographer

    Thanks, Brahm, and congrats to you too!

    I appreciate your advice, because I admit to getting a little lost in the expectations of others… On one hand, I really like knowing what people loved/hated from other weddings they’ve attended, but on the other, it makes me feel like we should simply save ourselves the trouble and elope to Vegas instead!

    Oh… Except that we can’t legally get married there. Le sigh.

  3. When hubby and I got married we spent about $6,000.00. Wedding, honeymoon, rings, flowers, my inlaws sprung for the reception dinner and drinks which was nice. We took a weeks cruise from New orleans, there are ways to have a wedding and not break the bank at the same time. We’ve been paying off that line of credit for ages. You can be sensible yet frugal at the same time.

    Jeremy in Montreal

Leave a Reply

