Caramelized Onion Jam (and Hello)

I’ve been saying to myself that I’ll blog when I have time, when I’ve finally got into the groove of my job, when I’m not tired. Also, when my wrist doesn’t hurt: The carpal tunnel syndrome is back… Boo! Hiss! Blech. Then I realized: This may be my new normal.

Huh.

Not the CTS, I mean: I hope that’ll get better. But feeling as though I have no time, like I could use a lot more sleep than I get… It sounds like the bad parts of being adult.

Le sigh.

But hey! There’s good parts about growing up too, right?

I made this jam a few weeks ago, and it has developed a bit of a following by friends and neighbours. Eat it with bread, cheese, tomatoes, or simply a spoon.

FG’s Caramelized Onion Jam
(adapted from the Complete Book of Pickling, by Mackenzie)

Yields 4 x 250 mL jars… Best to double, if you can stand chopping that many onions!

12 cups chopped onions
2 cups brown sugar
2 teaspoons pickling salt
1/2 cup water
1 1/2 cups vinegar

Combine onions, sugar, salt, and water and bring to boil over medium heat, stirring until sugar and salt dissolve.

Reduce heat to low, and simmer with occasional stirring until onions are soft (~20 minutes). If your onions are dry-ish, cover during this stage… Mine were juicy, so I left the lid off.

Increase heat and boil gently, stirring frequently, until onions are nicely caramelized… This can take 40 minutes or so.

Add vinegar and return to boil, still stirring, and cook until thickened to desired consistency.

Ladle into hot sterile jars, leaving 1 cm headspace, and seal appropriately. Process in a hot water bath for 10 minutes.

One response to “Caramelized Onion Jam (and Hello)

  1. Will you be seeing someone again for you wrist? What about the laser therapy your massage therapist was telling you about?

    You might also be suffering some residual fatigue from your intense course. I hope your tiredness sorts itself out soon.

    On est fier de toi!

    sum

Leave a Reply

