In which I try melatonin.

I went to a local herb store yesterday and discussed my insomnia/anxiety with a staff member. She said she approved of the sleepy tea mix that I’ve been using (mostly chamomile and catnip with some lavender and powedered valerian), which was nice to hear since it’s more of an experiment than a set formula. After looking at all the options, I decided to start by dosing myself with a combination melatonin and vitamin B tablet at bedtime, along with some Rescue Remedy tincture. With a nice bath and a ban on electronic devices anywhere near my bedside (let alone in my hands… Oh, the temptation of the sudoku app on my iPod!), it oughta knock me out for a good chunk of sleep.

Last night I went to bed at 8:30 pm and slept for 12 and a half hours.

It may have been the tea, the bath, the boring yet amusing plot of the first Swallows and Amazons novel, the melatonin, and the tincture. Or it may have been the lorazepam that Oats gave me once I started to lose my mind at about 7:30 pm. Either way, I feel a million times better today.

4 responses to “In which I try melatonin.

  1. LOL.. I suspect it was the lorazepam. I find it weird that there is a melatonin/b complex combo. Is that together?? Or do you just take both? Usually B vitamins are taken in the morning and melatonin at night. Although B vitamins are good for stress they do have a wakeful effect on many people (including myself)

  2. feralgeographer

    The lorazepam, really? Heh heh… Yes, you’re probably right… I took one when flying home from Australia last June, and consequently have no memory of my layover in Los Angeles, and felt absolutely fine upon arrival in Vancouver!

    It’s a vitamin B-6/melatonin combo, 3 mg of each in a small minty-flavoured lozenge. I chose it because it’s what the staff member recommended, though she never mentioned any potential effects of the vitamin B! I took it last night, sans lorazepam, and sleep very well, so I’m pleased.

  3. Sudoku on an iPod? Thank Maude I don’t have that. I’d never get anything read on my commute!

  4. feralgeographer

    It’s addictive, especially because you can race the clock!

Leave a Reply

