Early spring garden report.

I feel as though I’m finally coming out of the end-of-school-funk into which I descended way back in January.  I always hesitate to declare myself to be depressed, because I don’t struggle with depression like many folks in my community of friends and family, but there was a lot of small-d depression going on:  For a while I was not feeling capable of doing anything at all, beyond half-heartedly walking the dog, socializing with one or two people in quiet situations, and pulling together some meals.  As someone who is used to having 16 projects on the go at any one time, this was a big drop in my energy levels.  Which isn’t to say that it’s necessarily healthy to *have* 16 projects on the go, but neither do I feel satisfied when the largest task I’ve accomplished in a day is to have washed a load of laundry.  So, I’m glad that I’m getting going again.  Even without having found a job yet, I believe I’ll be more hire-able if I’m more up-beat and busy.

I went to the local Seedy Saturday and managed to spend less than $10 by only frequenting the seed exchange table, where small envelopes and baggies were going for $1 each.  Inspired by my purchases, I spent the bike ride homeward fantasizing about gardening, and thinking about what else I needed to acquire.  One item on that list was sand, since I need to build up good draining soil in my raised bed.  Lo and behold, there on the side of the road was a large bucket of sand, sporting a sign that read “Free”.  The rest of the afternoon, I worked on the bed, a project that culminated in the creation of a cold frame simply by sinking some boards in to the mulch and topping it with an old window.  It’s angled to face south, and I banked up leaf mulch all around the sides, which makes it very cozy.  Having never made a cold frame before, I’m quite proud of this one, simple as it is.

I mixed a version of potting soil from sand, composted leaf mulch, and amazing black dirt harvested from the worm composter that has been ignored on the patio since last March. There are still some worms left buried deep in the bin, so I’ll resurrect it eventually; when I got the composter, it had been abandoned for two years and still managed to bounce back into action within a couple weeks… The power of worms is incredible!

The seeds I started include green cabbage, Chimayo hot peppers, Thai basil, and some beans that were labeled “Fat White Boys”. As well, I planted the beans pictured above, which my mother gave me: She doesn’t know what they are, but they dry well and are very pretty, so I’m hoping they’ll be good eating. Also, good climbers: My raised garden bed is small, and I want to maximize space. I also want to have some in planters, and grow them up the walls around our patio as well as outside the kitchen window, where I currently have a view of the concrete and stucco that is the landlady’s garage.

Growing things is a good reminder of the possibilities for positive change.

Leave a Reply

