New Year’s Eve: Chocolate and Drunken Cherry Cupcakes

Back in the summer, I made a lot of drunken cherries:  Jars full of pitted cherries, sprinkled with sugar and topped up with rum.  They’re just about perfectly boozy now, and the rum is great too, and a gorgeous shade of red.

It’s tasty with a splash of lemon and some club soda, not too sweet, very nice.

I’ve been featuring the cherries in my new traditional solstice season treat, Chocolate and Drunken Cherry Cake. For the Solstice celebration itself, and then again on Christmas Eve, I made big slab cakes with cream cheese icing that I’d flavoured with the rum, turning it a cute light pink colour. For New Year’s Eve, I made half as much batter but added the same amount of cherries and chocolate chips, and baked it into cupcakes topped with little spheres of white chocolate.

CHOCOLATE AND DRUNKEN CHERRY CUPCAKES
Makes 12 cupcakes

1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup white flour
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup cocoa
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 tablespoon vinegar
1 cup warm water
1 cup chocolate chips
1 cup drunken cherries, chopped
12 small white chocolate spheres (Lindt makes them)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Combine dry ingredients in a bowl.
In another bowl, mix up the wet.
Add wet to dry, and throw in the chocolate chips and the cherries.
Combine with a few swift strokes, and divide evenly across a muffin tin (I lined mine with silicone cupcake liners).
Top each with a white chocolate.
Bake for 18 minutes or so, until done.
Let cool, and enjoy!

These electric beaters died right after this photo was taken, which was sad since I'd only just bought them the week before at a local thrift store. Still, I suppose I got my $3.50-worth during that time.

Even after they’d cooled, the innards of the white chocolate were all gooey and runny, which sounds gross but was actually rad.  Unlike the larger cakes, these cupcakes were so chock-full of cherries that you could taste the rum too.  Delicious!  We had one friend invited to dinner, then a couple others stopped by and were convinced to join us, followed by two more later in the evening, which made it into a good little crowd ringing in the New Year at our place.

2010, you’re looking good.

8 responses to “New Year’s Eve: Chocolate and Drunken Cherry Cupcakes

  1. Those sound ridiculously delicious and make me very envious that you have an oven.

  2. Oh god – so decadent. I love that I’d only have to veganize the icing, the rest is already good to go.

    Sounds like one rockin’ Solstice. whatcha making for the spring equinox? :)

    • feralgeographer

      I never even liked cream cheese icing until I was baking cupcakes with vegans, and discovered the joy and simplicity of using Better Than Cream Cheese as an icing base. It’s so delicious!

      Sadly, we’ve devoured so many jars of drunken cherries over the past two weeks that I’m certain we’ll have none left by Equinox… Maybe I’ll do some wild greens salad instead, as a proper celebration of spring!

  3. True. The larger barrier is my complete and utter laziness.

  4. WOW, those look incredible! If it wasn’t after midnight, I would totally head to the store to try and find some cherries… What do you think is the shortest amount of time it might take to make a truly yummy drunken cherry?

  5. Thanks! Hmmm… Well, this was my first time doing the cherries, so I don’t know the answer to your question!

    Also, I doubt you’ll find fresh cherries this time of year… However, while thinking about that, I did a websearch and found this rad idea for making them using dried fruit cooked in the booze to infuse them, which’d speed up the process.

    Next year, I’ll do a taste/aesthetics test every month or so, and we’ll make a chart of the best drunken cherry time!

Leave a Reply

