Cold and dark and rainy.

This morning I made my throat achy and raw by retching over the toilet for a while, trying to throw up as neatly as possible. Luckily, I managed to not throw up at all, and so went to school despite lingering doubts about my health. If I had swine flu, I’d know, right? From what I hear, it’s a more sudden and violent affliction than this sort of creeping tiredness, nausea, absentmindedness, and headache that I’ve had on and off for weeks now.

I even forgot about tonight’s Billy Bragg concert until about 6:45 this morning, at which point I pretty much decided that I don’t want to go. I hadn’t even remembered to get tickets.

I don’t know what’s wrong with me, except that it’s been cold and dark and rainy for weeks now. Summer feels like it passed faster than ever before. It took me a while to realize that I missed the first couple months of sunshine and warmth: Instead, I spent April, May, and June in Melbourne, where it was cold and dark and rainy.

I already had my winter, and am not coping well with another one hitting me again so soon.

3 responses to “Cold and dark and rainy.

  1. That is crazy! To realise that you have, indeed, already had a winter. I am sure it would affect the way you feel regardless of feeling sick.

    Speaking of which,I have been thinking the same thing; surely we’d know if we had the Hini, no? hmm…

  2. i feel the same way. on these rainy days it’s so much harder to wake up and stay busy. i miss summer, and somehow after only a few days of rain, i can’t even remember what sun feels like. it won’t last!!! don’t worry….

    • Hey lee,

      I agree with you! Isn’t it amazing how lack of light affects our bodies and mind so deeply? I am all doleful and shit; I make my cat look The Cheerfulness itself.

Leave a Reply

