Visiting with twenty-four people in eight days: Fun, and exhausting.

I’m back.  Actually I got back a few days ago, but hit the ground running and have barely slowed since.  The entire trip to Ontario felt like that, in fact… I thought I’d be all relaxed and well-rested from not having to take a puppy out to pee in the middle of the night, but there was so much visiting to do.  Oats and I shared at least one meal with both my sets of parents, both of my sisters, one of my stepbrothers plus his wife and two kids, my older sister’s partner, my older sister’s roommate, two friends of mine from high school, Oats’ parents, Oats’ grandparents, Oats’ long-time family friend, and Oats’ brother plus his wife and two kids.  Twenty-four people in eight days.  Fun, and exhausting.  Upon our return, our landlady asked how the weather was and I said that I didn’t have a clue.

It’s good to be back.

Mo went to the vet tonight for his 2nd round of shots.  It was a different doctor than the one we saw before, and she wasn’t quite as friendly.  Among other things, she told us that he’s underweight, because his ribs are visible.  We told her that her coworker had noted Mo’s skinny hips and long legs, and guessed that he’s part whippet, in which case he is naturally very thin.  At this point, he barely weighs 10 lbs, and yet we’ve been feeding him the designated amount of kibble for that size of dog since we got him 4 weeks ago!  We’re going to increase it now, but still… I think he’s just a bony sort of animal.

Whatever.

I’m cranky, and need to sleep now.  I’m just glad to have such a good pup as Mo, and that he’s generally healthy and a pleasure to all he meets.

Mo sitting pretty in the special bed his Auntie has made for him in her kitchen, so that he can be in on the action and yet also comfortable (and fashionable).

Mo at 13 weeks of age, sitting pretty in the special bed his Auntie has made for him in her kitchen, so that he can be part of the action and yet also comfortable (and fashionable).

2 responses to “Visiting with twenty-four people in eight days: Fun, and exhausting.

  1. what a handsome dog! i think he and a certain cat not only look alike, but must be soulmates!

  2. also, i didn’t read your actual blog post, sorry! i want to HEAR it from you in person.

Leave a Reply

