i <3 banana muffins

I made muffins last night, in an attempt to clear out some of the stuff from my crowded freezer. Also, I had soy milk that I knew was going to be going off; I like to use it up before that happens. It’s great for baking when it’s slightly sour: more acidic, thus making fluffier batters. Like baking with buttermilk, you know? And no, I wouldn’t use soy milk that’s gone all chunky! I’m fine with it when it separates a bit when poured into a cup of tea. After that, it’s down the sink… or into the compost pile… or the pig slop bucket… or maybe the dog will eat it…

Anyway, the muffins were good, and got rave reviews when I shared them with my coworkers and my romantic associate. Here’s the recipe:

Banana Muffins! (no wheat, vegan)

Makes 2 dozen muffins

3 cups flour (I use spelt)
1 ½ cups sugar (I use level ground trading co’s organic fair trade stuff)
1 Tbsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1 tsp ground star anise
1 tsp cinnamon
½ tsp ground ginger
½ tsp nutmeg
3 bananas
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 tsp vanilla
1 ½ cups soy milk (maybe more, maybe less… also, you can use water or juice instead)

1. Oven @ 325°F
2. Prepare yer muffin tins: either line them with papers, or give each cup a wipe with some vegetable oil. Trust me, it’s a good idea.
3. Mix together all the dry stuff! A note about spices: please don’t feel like you have to stick to my idea of a well-flavoured muffin… Use what you’ve got and what you like.
4. In another bowl or big measuring cup, mash the bananas. Add the oil and the vanilla, and measure it to see how much there is. You need 3 cups of wet stuff total, so add soy milk until you’ve got enough.
5. Dump wet into dry and combine with a few swift strokes (over-mixing = flat muffins)
6. Divide the batter equally amongst all the tins, pop ‘em in the oven, and spend 13 minutes planning a mix tape for a stranger. Check on the muffins, and take them out of the oven when cooked in the centre.

For extra-special muffins that verge on cupcakes: Put a saucepan on the stove on low heat. In it, stir together 1 cup chocolate chips with ¼ cup soy milk. Keep stirring until melted and smooth. Remove from heat. Take each cooled banana muffin and dunk the top into the chocolate. Stick in fridge to set. Mmmmmmmmmmm…

Leave a Reply

